# 53 – Dr. Seuss ain’t got nothin’ on me. (Reflect)

TRAIN OF THOUGHT:

reflect – refract – light-heaven – gold – leprechaun -pinch – green – green eggs and ham – Dr. Seuss

dr-seuss11

Everyone grew up reading Dr. Seuss books. If you didn’t, there is something very very wrong and you need to go back to get a new childhood. My favorites were Marvin K. Mooney, Will You Please Go Now! and Are You My Mother? I mean yeah, I liked Green Eggs and Ham and The Cat in the Hat, but they were too mainstream. Also, Dr. Seuss holds a special place in my heart because he is part of one of my family’s traditions. Every time a person in the family graduates, from high school or college, my grandfather buys them a copy of Oh, The Places You’ll Go and reads it to them at the post-graduation get-together. When I got mine, I bawled my eyes out.

Anyway, I figured it would be interesting to incorporate Tide into one of my own Dr. Seuss-esque stories. Let’s see how this goes.

The Koober Kublains had trouble with stains
They were messy and dirty and got grub in their manes
The Koober Kublains liked playing it rough
Until Kobby Kublain said I’ve had enough!

Now, Kobby Kublain did not fit in
He kept his clothes ironed and his shirt tucked in
Kobby washed all the clothes without a care
To make the others help just wouldn’t seem fair

They all worked hard, they had jobs of their own
But Kobby realized he couldn’t do this alone
He asked for assistance, but they said no!
Oh, oh, Kobby cried in woe!

It’s too hard they said, to get rid of the stains
that’s why we leave it to you, Kobby Kublain!
Kobby Kublain didn’t understand
with Tide, he lifted stains without lifting a hand!

They don’t understand, they need to be taught!
Silly Kublains, thinking laundry takes a lot.
Kublains! Kobby said, laundry is fun!
You just have to find the right detergent, like this one!

He held up the Tide bottle, their face in awe
If only they’d seen what Kobby always saw
That this laundry task was not so bad
It’s the best thing they’ve ever had!

We’re sorry for doubting you Kobby! they cried,
and Kobby just laughed and smiled and sighed,
I knew you’d get it, Tide is all you need
Just a drop in the wash and you’ve done a good deed

So the Koober Kublains who used to be vile
Now wear clothes that smell good for miles
After long days of play and desserts at night
They know for their stains, Tide is just right

Leave a comment